# Closing Files in the Editor

MPS suggests several ways to close editor tabs.

### To close a file in the editor, do one of the following

- In the main menu, point to Window | Editor Tabs, choose one of the appropriate closing commands.

**Close**  
Closes the file in the active tab.

**Close All**  
Closes all editor tabs.

**Close Others**  
Closes all tabs except the current one. The alternative way to close all other tabs lays with clicking the  button, while holding the `Alt` key pressed:

**Close Unmodified**  
Closes all files that were not changed. This command is only available when version control integration is enabled in the project.

**Close All But Pinned**  
Closes all files that were not pinned. This command appears, if there are pinned editor tabs.

- Right-click any editor tab, and choose the same commands from the context menu.
- Hover over a tab and click the middle mouse button.
- Hover over a tab and click .
- Press `Ctrl` `F4`.

> ### tip  
> When you close modified files, MPS preserves all changes in the current editing session. After reopening such files, the results of editing are restored.
